NotebookTalk

install windows softwares in bottles ?

i.bakar

is it possible to install a huge software and its plugins like for example , 3DS max +vray  or adobe in-design ?

i wanna move completely to linux but adobe and Autodesk products is the base of my work. 

i'm new to linux and i'm doing a lot of research and came across bottles and wine but i couldnt install adobe acrobat pro...

please share whatever you have on the subject..

• Thumb Up 1

Alienware M18X R1, i7 2960XM @ 4.4Ghz, Nvidia GTX 880M SLI , 32GB RAM , samsung 840pro + samsung 860evo ( THE BEST I EVER HAVE)

Alienware Area-51M R1, i9 9900K @ 5.1Ghz, Nvidia RTX 2080, 64GB RAM, samsung 980 Pro( LOVELY MACHINE WITH BAD BIOS )

Alienware 18 , I7 4930MX @ 4.2Ghz , GTX 980M SLI, 32GB RAM ( MAY REST IN PEACE)   (CAME BACK TO LIFE) 

Complex applications like this generally don't rank well with regards to compatibility with Wine.

https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?iId=343&sClass=application

https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=35781

There are sometimes tweaks that you can do to make things work better for one application.  Sometimes that will break things for other applications which is why you see people using Wine "prefixes" to basically run problematic Windows applications on their own Wine configuration.  As I understand it, "Bottles" are basically a way to bundle Windows software with a tailored Wine configuration and maybe an easy installer, but that's about it, they can't magically make Wine work better.

I'm not too deep into this, but my impression is that there has been way more work lately to get Wine working well with games (largely because of Valve's investments, paying the CodeWeavers guys to work on Proton), so the Windows-games-on-Linux space is in pretty good shape these days, but that work hasn't exactly translated to greatly improving support for professional applications like Adobe CS / MS Office / AutoDesk products / etc.