NotebookTalk

Still Considering New Laptop

Hi I had made a thread a while back about a laptop purchase. I have spoilered the details answering the template questions about my purchase at the end, since they don't change.

However, I have made a new thread as I was hoping in the past few months prices might have dropped, if just a bit. Just in case recommendations change because of that or some other reason. I plan to complete the purchase some time next month.

Also adding a few details that might further help: I am currently using a 2017 ASUS Strix G15 with an i7 7th gen, Nvidia GTX 1070, 16 GB RAM, 15" 1080p display, 256 GB SSD + 1000 GB HDD, Windows 10 Home. Whatever I buy next I am hoping for equivalent, if not better performance, without breaking the bank.

I have little knowledge of whether AMD or Nvidia is better but assuming the latter, I am hoping to upgrade to an RTX 4000 series and I am linking a few laptops with 4090s as well as 4050s, to demonstrate some of the prices and specs that are available to me. Please help me consider what I should buy.

Some 4090s:

Some 4050s:
Spoiler

Following is the template from my original thread:

Spoiler
General Questions

1) What is your budget?

Indefinite. That said, I am not shelling out $10,000+ nor am I paying an extra $1,000 for an extra 10 GB of storage or 1 GB of RAM.

2) What size notebook would you prefer?a. Ultraportable; 10" - 12" screen

c. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen

d. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen

e. Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen Doesn't matter. Primarily for gaming and essentially a portable machine. Whichever offers the best performance is fine for a good price.

3) In which country will you buying this notebook?

USA

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?

a. Like:

b. Dislike:

None in particular. As long as it is good quality.

5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?

No.