NotebookTalk

MacBook adventures

Aaron44126

Fed up with Windows.  Tried Linux for a while, and while successful in using it, I found myself frustrated a bit by the lack of professional software (MS Office, Adobe, etc.) and just the amount of tinkering that I had to do to get things working the way that I wanted.  Now, I've decided to give macOS a go, so I went and bought a MacBook Pro.

Background:

I'm familiar with macOS so I don't feel like I am going in blind.  For many years I was a sysadmin and managed a bunch of Macs, even though I never used one as a "daily driver" myself.  That's been a while ago now, though, and I have not spent any serious time with an "Apple Silicon" Mac before now.

Following up on the Linux thread, I figured that I would start this one and just sort of write about things that I've run into, positives and negatives.  Maybe it will help out anyone else who is considering a similar transition.

First impressions — positive.

• Setup is super easy, as you'd expect.  But, it did offer to transfer data off of a Windows PC and I did not try using that function to see how well it works.
  • The mini-LED display is easily the best laptop display that I have ever seen.  Super bright, good colors, deep blacks.  (Though I will mention that I've never used an OLED laptop display.)
  • I poked around "Settings" and mostly was able to set it up to behave how I want, with some exceptions mentioned below.  I did find the Settings app to be a bit odd, with stuff not being in the place that I would expect or hidden behind secondary menus that you have to press a button to access.