NotebookTalk

Eluktronics Mech 15 G3R Review

Gumwars

So, I'm not a newbie to the gaming laptop scene. A brief look back at the rigs I've owned as it might shed some light on what brought me here:

• 2009 HP DV7T: i5 and some midrange AMD GPU

• 2011 Asus G75VX: i7 3630MQ and a GTX675

• 2018 Aorus X5 V7: i7 7820HK and the venerable GTX1080

• 2018 Alienware 15R3: i7 7700HQ and the GTX1070

• 2019 Alienware M17 R1: i7 9750H and a RTX2070 MQ

The HP was my starter, and it was absolute garbage. I believe it killed nerves in my left hand due to the heat this thing would kick out. That led to my next pick, the G75VX. I selected it based completely on thermals. It had an rPGA CPU and MXM GPU, that Asus never did anything with. It also weighed a metric ton (ok, really like 12 lbs with the adapter, or roughly 6 kilos for you metric folk) but ran super cool. When my upgrade window opened, I wanted something with more performance and lighter.

Enter the gaming laptop paradox; we all want something powerful and doesn't snap your shoulders when you go to work or school.

My Asus was bought through XoticPC, which was a great buying experience (and no sales tax at the time). For the Aorus, I went with HIDEvolution which didn't go so well. It wasn't that HIDEvolution was the problem, they weren't and I'd recommend them if you want a more personal touch with a mainstream laptop. The Aorus was the problem. It was junk. Expensive junk, but junk none the less. I had the laptop for two weeks when the motherboard died. This was at the end of a long string of other nonsense so rather than dive into the rabbit hole of RMA hell, I returned it and bought the Alienware.