NotebookTalk

ASUS RT-AC88U

cucubits

Does anyone else have this router?

I've been using it for a few years now and I have a few annoyances/issues which I haven't ironed out yet. Maybe discussing here we can shed some light...

- I'm running the latest Merlin firmware and for some reason when I go to the wireless settings section in the menu, it all goes wonky. No tabs show up and lots of options seem to be missing. Can't even see anymore the separate 2.4/5Ghz setup tabs.

- on the initial setup page, there's a "clients" section, which should show all the devices connected currently. This never works, always shows zero. Any ideas?

Anyone else seen similar issues?

I used to have the RT-AC66U which is fairly similar but pretty old at this point. Good choice on using Merlin, it was my choice as well once I weeded out the others (Tomato, DDWRT..etc) I had very few problems however they were generally reserved to issues which were related to port forwarding rules not correctly applying.

Apparently the clients list function on Merlin is closed source by Asus. And now that you mention it, I do remember wireless clients not showing in the client list, but did show my hard-wired devices.

Assuming you're on Windows have you tried running:

arp -a

in command prompt? This command shows devices on the same network. You can also use a program like Glasswire.

If all else fails factory reset then re-flash maybe?

arp -a

...works but it doesn't show too much information.

For when I forget the IPs of some devices (NAS, a couple RPIs for automation tasks) I usually run a little windows program "Angry IP Scanner". It's quick, shows all the clients on the network. I should also probably set up static IPs to avoid this but I just haven't got around to do this properly.

I also used to run a whitelist on the WIFI network but since switching to Merlin I ran into that settings issue and can't get to these options anymore.