NotebookTalk

Tenoroon's Guide to Fully Unlocking Haswell's Turbo bins

Tenoroon

Reciever
This post was recognized by Reciever!

"Long Overdue!"

Tenoroon was awarded the badge 'Great Content' and 500 points.

Good Evening everyone,

After hours of following old guides, and installing odd software, I believe I have found the easiest and most universal way to fully unlock Haswell-M class CPUs that utilize turbo bins.

I will do my best to explain everything, but I must warn you all that everything listed below is what I have figured out, and I am still learning. This means that this process might not work for some people. (Step 10 of the Insyde portion goes into more depth.) I am hoping I can get some input and have some people test out my method on different computers. I really want to test and ensure this method works for all Haswell mobile BIOSes, but I don't have all of the resources and knowledge to do that. I would really appreciate any help/assistance that I can get on this journey 😉

Let me know if my way of explaining this is too confusing/convoluted. I struggle a bit with putting my mind into words, so I might not go fully in depth into some things that don't seem complicated to me. This post will probably be edited multiple times to make things more clear and to fix spelling errors as this is quite a lengthy post 🙂

Anyways, let's get started!

What is the Haswell Microcode "Bug"?
The Haswell Microcode "Bug" as it is called isn't really a bug at all, but more so an oversight that managed to slip through the cracks and end up available for us, the general consumer.